Skip to content

1+1+ Architects is a licensed architecture and design collective rooted in the Midwest cities of Detroit and Chicago. 1+1+ brings architecture to new audiences through scaling down by working with local businesses, developers, and nonprofits, and scaling up by engaging in systematic issues shaping our built environment today, including housing and climate change.  1+1+ draws from research to realize built and speculative works, treating tangible materials and intangible forces as part of the same matter. From exploring collage arrangements to part-to-whole relationships, our work embraces difference to achieve common goals. Our designs and spaces generate unexpected and pleasurable experiences, while anticipating adaptation to care for the social, cultural, and financial longevity of our clients and their communities. 1+1+ has worked with many small businesses, institutions, and nonprofit organizations including Coriander Kitchen & Farm, 555 Arts, Recycle Here!, Sozai, Barton Malow, and the Henry Ford Hospital System.

Laura Marie Peterson is an architect, artist and researcher who led the product development of the WeLive co-housing units, and the design for a housing project at 815 Water Street. She often collaborates on intersectional projects with people outside of the discipline of architecture, such as Holy MTA with photographer A-Chan. Peterson was recently awarded a residency at the Montello Foundation in Nevada, and currently teaches at the RISD School of Architecture, and the Hillier College of Architecture and Design.

De Peter Yi is an architect, educator, and author of Building Subjects, a book exploring the architecture of collective housing in China. His extensive experience in housing and adaptive reuse includes the re-imagining of the Arkansas Museum of Fine Arts, the design for One Hundred in St Louis, and building a sustainable green roof on top of a landmark building in Chicago. Peter currently teaches at the Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, where he was the 2018-2019 Walter B. Sanders Fellow. 

Current and past collaborators include Other-Fields, Aanya Chugh, HD Structural, Alex Lauer, Tahir Karmali, Yi Kai, Sarah Peterson and Matthew Crilley.